St. Agnes Parish, since its founding as a mission of St. Joseph Church, (the Cathedral of our Diocese of Baton Rouge), on May 27, 1912, on through its establishment as an independent parish on February 9, 1917, through the construction of the present church building in 1951, on up to the present day, has been a vibrant sign of the presence of Christ in His Church, in the People of God in south Baton Rouge.
From the many priests who have served here, including among others, Msgr. Lucien J. Caillouet, Msgr. Patrick Gillespie, Msgr. Daniel Becnel, Father Peter Crifasi, Father John Spriggs, from Dominican Sisters who staffed St. Agnes School, from the missionary Sisters of Charity of Mother Theresa who operate the women’s Shelter, the soup kitchen, and service to the poor, from the Mercedarian Sisters, from the countless number of lay people members of St. Agnes Parish who dedicate themselves to ministry and prayer, the parishioners of St. Agnes have received ministry and service to help them attain their eternal goal of heaven
May God bless each and every one, and may He continue to pour out His blessings upon St. Agnes Parish, so that we may truly live our Catholic faith, and pass it on in all its fullness to the next generation. (Rev. Msgr. Robert Berggreen, Saint Agnes Catholic Church, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, 2002, Church Parish Directory).